Heaven got better


In many different traditions lighting a candle is a sacred action. It expresses more than words can express. It has to do with gratefulness. From time immemorial, people have lit candles in sacred places.

Today’s candle is lit For: William Oswald Lacombe, January 24, 1914 – February 25, 1988.

I remember well how in his last days, I kept a vigil at Dad’s bedside, watching him, comatose, taking one breath in, then one breath out, all the while I repeated “I love you Daddy”.

How close I came to lighting a candle by his bedside in his private room in the Centre d’Accueil Alfred Desorchers. What stopped me I don’t know — Mom who had gone before him almost exactly one year before, or Bill who had passed on almost seven years exactly to the month, or my angels and guides who are ever with me? In any event, had I done that, what with Dad being on oxygen, I would have set the whole Home ablaze!

But no, I went home and there by myself, lit a candle and prayed: Daddy, it’s OK; I’m OK, you can go now. I don’t need you anymore; I don’t want you to suffer anymore. Please go to the light. And I slept to be awakened in the middle of the night by the voice of the nurse who said you had better come right away. And I arrived, to find his soul had just left his body. My father was dead. Daddy, I love you immeasurably. You are in my heart and in my soul and in every breath I take.

2 responses to “Heaven got better

  1. I feel your loss. A good friend once said, “Life is preparing for one’s death. Your father had a good life and is at peace.” Those words keep me going after my father passed. It has been 18 years since he died but I still feel him close whenever I need his strength.

    Lovely smiling picture of your dad. :)

  2. My Dad already had Alzheimer’s in this picture so I am so happy you see the love between us. Neverending.

Leave a Reply

