Will you visit my grave site ?

Mother of our mothers,
Foremothers strong.
Guide our hands in yours,
Remind us how to kindle the hearth.
~Caitlin Matthews, “A Blessing for the Hearth Keepers”

It’s dawn. I do my best writing when morning has broken. (Thanks, Cat.) What a blessing to still gaze upon the full moon in the wee hours. I’ve put a fresh log in the hearth that I smoored last night (actually I just put up the electric heat but a girl can dream, can’t she?) and I begin my post.

Yesterday was brewmaster Alexander Keith’s 214th birthday. Perhaps you drink his pale ale. Apparently people mark Keith’s birthday by leaving bottle caps and beer bottles at his grave site in Camp Hill Cemetery in Halifax.

Which got me thinking what will people leave at my grave site? Flowers? cards? little cut-out hearts? (that would be nice; I’d like that), moose antlers? (I hope not).

But maybe they won’t visit at all. And you know what? That’s alright too. I really won’t be there anyway. But don’t worry, I’ll be around. You’re not getting rid of me that easily. 🙂

10 responses to “Will you visit my grave site ?

  1. I believe I would visit. Gives me a good reason to come up to the Great White North! (Though making that trek while you’re still breathing would be nice too…)

  2. Aw, thanks, Gina. Don’t forget your parka :/

  3. Well, I’m glad I read the whole thing to find out you’re not leaving yet! Nice to read you, keep on writing.

  4. I’d visit it, and I’m glad that you’re not leaving any time soon. I’d drink a glass of wine and think kind and happy thoughts about you.

  5. Earthly death isn’t my end either 🙂
    As for leaving things on my grave, I’m not sure I care if folks visit at all. I won’t be there.

    Now if it helps them move along, then by all means. And if they must leave something, I’d say leave some written word.

  6. Lovely piece of writing… You’ve made me think afresh how our words live on after we’ve gone, and the connections we made through those words… smiles, tears, laughter, hope, friendship, imagination, possibility…

    Thanks fo the cat for waking you early!

Leave a Reply

