It’s never a good sign to get a phone call from your doctor at 10:30 p.m.

The phone rang at 10:30 that night in 1997. Christine, it’s Dr. G. calling. Oh, Dr., I said, this is a surprise. Guess you’re calling about the Queen E Hospital. No, he replied with a question mark in his voice. Oh, they said there is something cloudy/unclear in my mammogram and want me to have it redone. I didn’t know that, Dr. G. replied. I was calling because your pap smear came back with abnormal cells and I need to schedule you for a cone biopsy.

Talk about the other shoe falling.

I had the cone biopsy and I’ve had another last year for pre-cancerous cells. Dr. G. said he’s only performed three cones on one other patient. I don’t intend to be his second case.

Leave a Reply

