You can call me a dork if you want to but …

… puleeze don’t ever call me a douche or a douche bag. You see, this word which has become increasingly popular in social media circles, this word is sexual slang and derogatory to women. A douche is French for a shower. A douche bag is a vaginal hygiene product. I mean, if you must label someone, why not call them by the gender neutral term such as asshole or enema bag ?

My campaign to rid ourselves of this word began earlier this Fall. Since then, I have been blocked by those who consider me Twitter Police. Me? A police person? I doubt it.

Honestly, I find the term defamatory to women and its use just repulses me. So, I started the hashtag #douchebusters. If someone in my stream uses the word douche or douche bag, I retweet their tweet with this hashtag.

If you care to join my army, I would be honoured. In the words of Margaret Mead “Never doubt a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

8 responses to “You can call me a dork if you want to but …

  1. I completely agree that this is a word that should not be used, for sure! It’s so pervasive!

  2. Thank you for ringing in, Raul. Appreciate your taking the time to do so. Pervasive indeed. From Jon Stewart making it mainstream etcetera. But it is no mysoginis.

  3. Nice post, Christine! I can’t believe YOU were blocked. 🙂 Cheers to YOU!

  4. Yes @Rosyblue by several people, men & women, who think using the d word makes them cool.

  5. Nice post! I agree with you. I think we should all work to be more polite, in all modes of communication! Great work!

  6. You and I have discussed this on several occasions and I’m aware of your determination to “clean up” what should be common sense in any social atmosphere. I applaud you for this campaign, if it only changes 100 minds you’ve made a heck of a difference. Cheers to you and thanks for putting this in a blog that may “teach” many how to more properly behave.

  7. Ew. I hate that word. Along with “faggot”, “gay” as in that’s so gay, the N word, and the C word. grrr.. They just set my teeth on edge.

Leave a Reply

