You know you’ve reached middle age when…

… it takes you two days to get over a rock concert. Well, not just any rock concert, but On The Run , Sir Paul McCartney’s sold-out performance on Tues., July 26th in front of 16,723 adoring fans.

When my BFF asked me two months “Are you busy on July 26th”? I said no without even consulting my agenda. When Sue my BFF extends an invitation, you know unequivocally, it’s gonna rock.

For Sue and me, Paul McCartney, notwithstandning Wings and his solo career, was and will always be one of The Beatles. His 2-3/4 hour, 35-song concert was sheer perfection. It could only have been more perfect if the other remaining Beatle, Ringo had been the drummer. You see, Paul was always my BFF’s fav and Ringo was mine. What a memorable evening !

Almost as unforgettable as the afternoon of September 8, 1964, the day after Labour Day & the first day of high school, when we two teenage friends screamed our lungs out with 9,500 other Beatlemaniacs, mostly girls,for 35 minutes virtually drowning out the 12 Beatle songs at their show – we called them shows in the good ole days, not concerts — on the Montreal Forum stage. Short but sweet, it was. We didn’t feel gypped, even at the astonashing $5 per ticket cost.The Beatles never again performed here although individual Fab Four members did over the years, but I never went to their shows.

47 years later, same 2 friends, as young as ever – OK, the blonde hair helps — excitedly attended Sir Paul’s On The Run concert. Our tickets were in the Parterre, at $250 a pop, and we stood on our stiletto’s the whole time because everyone in front of us was standing. Thankfully there were the video screens, so you could see Paul’s blue eyes up close and personal-like. I really needn’t have brought my binoculars.

The show was brilliant, but for me, the moments I will remember longest are the moments when Paul wore his heart on his sleeve and bore his soul, giving us a glimpse into the personal Paul and not just the consummate showman. Like this:

Yeah, you know, you probably noticed, in Britain we had a Royal Wedding this year. (applause) Yeah, I know they came over here. And, on the morning of the wedding I was with my little girl and I said to her: You know, I said, I’ve got a song that is called I Will (applause). And I said, wouldn’t it be great if at weddings instead of I do people would say I will? I just happened to mention it and then we watched the wedding and there’s the Vicar saying: Will you take this bloke to be your lawfully wedded husband? And Kate says, I will.

And this moment: before Paul broke into Here Today, this is what he said: C’est un chancon pour mon ami, John. I say to people, I say to people, if you want to tell people something nice, you want to tell them I love you, sometimes you say, I’ll say it tomorrow or I’ll say it another time; but then, when they pass away, it’s too late and you say and you think, it’s too late, I wish I’d said it. I always say to people, try to say it now, don’t wait. And this next song was written with John in mind and it’s our conversation that we didn’t have.

AND IF I SAY I REALLY KNEW YOU WELL,
WHAT WOULD YOUR ANSWER BE?
IF YOU WERE HERE TODAY.
UH, UH, UH, HERE TODAY.

WELL, KNOWING YOU,
YOU’D PROBABLY LAUGH AND SAY
THAT WE WERE WORLDS APART.
IF YOU WERE HERE TODAY.
UH, UH, UH, HERE TODAY.

BUT AS FOR ME,
I STILL REMEMBER HOW IT WAS BEFORE
AND I AM HOLDING BACK THE TEARS NO MORE.
UH, UH, UH,
I LOVE YOU, UH.

WHAT ABOUT THE TIME WE MET? (what about the time?)
WELL, I SUPPOSE THAT YOU COULD SAY
THAT WE WERE PLAYING HARD TO GET.
DIDN’T UNDERSTAND A THING,
BUT WE COULD ALWAYS SING.

WHAT ABOUT THE NIGHT WE CRIED? (what about the night)
BECAUSE THERE WASN’T ANY REASON
LEFT TO KEEP IT ALL INSIDE.
NEVER UNDERSTOOD A WORD,
BUT YOU WERE ALWAYS THERE WITH A SMILE.

AND IF I SAY I REALLY LOVED YOU
AND WAS GLAD YOU CAME ALONG.
THEN YOU WERE HERE TODAY,
UH, UH, UH, FOR YOU WERE IN MY SONG.
UH, UH, UH, HERE TODAY.

Sir Paul McCartney is a legend, indefatigable, a superb singer-songwriter but for my BFF Sue & me, he will always be just plain Paul – cute as a button.

Quote And in the end the love you get is equal to the love you give Unquote Sir Paul McCartney

.

21 responses to “You know you’ve reached middle age when…

  1. Now I’m in tears….Wow! Paul is so right….I have learned since my Mom’s passing as well as several others near and dear to me in the last two years…to say I love you…and NOT to wait.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Hugs!
    Juli (aka Scotlandlover)

  2. Beautiful and heartfelt as always, thank you Christine.
    One important point, you talk about not getting over the concert in 2 days…the last time you were in the same room as Paul was 47 years ago (when you was 3!) – you are still talking about that now, so you have at least 47 years left to ‘get over it’
    We know you will live forever with those monumental moments locked safely in your heart and on instant recall video whenever you so desire!

    Another thing I wish to do is to thank you once again for including me and sharing with me all the great details of your special concert.
    You are a star!

    I adore I will…and I agree your sweet story (well Paul’s) makes it all the more special. For me too it is special cos you told me you thought of me during that song and that is so lovely it makes me smile :>D

    Of course Like Juli, Here Today had me with leaky eyes too…
    think I got something in it!…(emotion!!)
    Does make you think and Paul clearly would love to tell John of his great love…like that living years song

    So enjoyed your concert and the musical moments we shared and have shared

    Thanks one more time David x

  3. Oh David. I cherish your comments especially after your emotion I will day for your sister Gill. TYSM for taking the time to read & comment. X

  4. My pleasure as always dear…
    I have always felt that you jestful claim to write cos you can do nothing else was backward
    I love you expressive style and think you have a great gift in you natural communicative style…
    Look forward to your blogs and always enjoy hearing about your views and adventurings

    Long may you run

    David x

  5. Gr8ful for your praise and encouragement, David. Guess there always is a little of that youth inferiority complex left somewhere down deep.

  6. Well deserved dear friend
    You remind me of how I process things you are often moved to respond and it feels like you are taking in greatness and letting it travel through you and out comes your words of wisdom
    (Let it be!)
    Your innocent modesty just adds to your charm
    :>Dx

  7. ♥ Your friends will know you better in the first minute you meet than your acquaintances will know you in a thousand years. Richard Bach

  8. Wise indeed dear Christine
    Love Richard Back’s inspirational books…
    Suits my easy blowing in the breeze approach to life
    Here is one from Illusions…
    “Every person, all the events of your life, are there because you have drawn them there. What you choose to do with them is up to you.”
    I feel that you come across people and events happen in your life at times that you need them…and what happens next depends on how you allow them to inspire you.

    Sending out wistful happy vibes

    David x

  9. Thanks, David. I have always held that to be true myself. x

  10. Sweet video addition…perfect…is that footage of your concert?
    Love the fans saying…We will always be fans…
    I imagine it’s you and your friend
    Lovely by the way that she gave you a keepsake guitar braclet
    What an amazing BFF
    Well done for managing the video trick…you are cleverer than you imagine

    David x

  11. Probably Toronto on Labour Day, the show my aunt forbade my cousin to go to & then she saw her on the 6 o’clock news hanging off the bumper of their limo. NK. Yes, David, Susan, is special in every way. The guitar charm was so fitting since Paul must’ve changed guitars a dozen times during the concert — just to impress us he said 😉

  12. Ha ha sweet indeed…I recall you telling me
    Lovely to have such special people in your life
    I think special people attract special people…
    Paul’s loveliness goes on and on
    As does yours :>D

  13. Hey David…no worries on the blip thing..I just don’t use my name there because I’ve had some very interesting blip drama over the last couple years including a few that wouldn’t take no for an answer (stalker type)
    Hugs to you both 😉
    J

  14. All sweet dear friend – just such a lovely name and as always I gush too much!
    Have stalk free fun!
    With musical love & hugs David … but you can call me anytime ;>D

  15. I think it’s wonderful that you’ve been able to bookend your Beatles concerts! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing such an important message!

  16. Thank you, Marianna, for such an insightful comment; I am always grateful for your visits to my blog. ♥

  17. Love the beautiful clip of sweet Paul in his red jacket, stumbling about in schoolboy French still caring about the fans.
    The video just ties things together beautifully…
    A great blog to encapsulate a forever experience

    David x

  18. Thx, David; that’s what I find so endearing about Paul. Superstar though he is, he is still so in touch with his fans. It was indeed the concert of two lifetimes.

  19. can you email me from my previous post info?
    been concerned about you
    J

Leave a Reply

